How to storyboard your panoramic adventure

I started this thread because as a process-motivated artist, I have spent all my time working on difficult landscapes and exquisite renders and in the process have lost my vision for what the point of the whole exercise was about…making a game!
I decided to get back to the story-boarding and put all my current modeling projects on hold as a way to refocus on my vision and excitement about the game process.
Are you stuck in the same way?

Making your own adventure game is a huge task. Movie and game studios (ie professionals) have long recognized the need to break the project into smaller steps required to reach the end goal, a finished game!

Many of us indie developers prefer one mode of development, whether it’s modeling, story creation, or fancy coding. But that can lead to spending a lot of time in your favorite creative activity and not moving forward. Games, just like movies, are a visual product, and the jump from a story/render/screenplay to a game/film is a huge one.

Story-boarding is an effective intermediate step to move from concept to final product.

-It allows you to quickly visualize and experiment with what your final experience should be.

-It prevents you from spending too much effort developing assets that don’t work well in the final product. This is probably the BIGGEST difference the goal-oriented game maker and the process-oriented artist.

-It quickly gets you into the ‘game’ experience and out of your favorite creative process. By getting to that game experience you energize what your real goals are and keep your focus on the big picture, so to speak.