Game-dev beginner searching for advices

Hello, my name is Alexander (from Russia). I’m a web programmer but I am looking for a way to get into the world of game development. I even have an idea and some developments for first game. Currently I am learning Unity, but my ideas made me think about panoramic-view like in Scratches. Looking for solutions of pseudo-3d realization in Unity I stumbled Dagon engine. I was happy to learn that it’s developers are related to development of Scratches (love this game!). And after that I found information about Acylum (unfortunately, it is too late to back you on Kickstarter) and about Dagonity.
That’s why I decided to write here some questions:

• is Dagonity really what I need in my situation?
  • is it available for familiarization?
  • …and perhaps you could advice me some usefull links about panoramic-view games development (information about preparing textures, tools I need, etc.)

Thank you in advance, regards, and sorry for my bad English :slight_smile:

Hi Alexander, and welcome to the forum!

Yes, in short: Dagonity would be the ideal solution for you. It’s precisely a very advanced and flexible tool to produce panoramic adventures in Unity (in the future, it will support any style of adventure game). For example, our newest addition is a tool that allows developers to create hotspots in the fastest possible way.

Keep in mind that it’s still heavily under production, though its open sourcing may be just around the corner. In the meantime, you could browse our adventure game development forum which is a treasure trove of information about tools and techniques to produce games like Scratches or Asylum :slight_smile:

Hi Alexander, welcome aboard.
Like all open projects, it is difficult to get everything very organized, especially for rapidly evolving projects like Dagon(-ity). From now on I will use ‘Dagon’ to mean any version of the engine.